A Reflection

As I have told many of you already, I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s disease last year.  I had initially been diagnosed with thyroid disease about five years ago, but it wasn’t until I was seen by a very different kind of resident as my primary doctor that I found out that it was much more than thyroid disease that I was struggling with.  When I was diagnosed she asked me if I was up for a life change.  I was very surprised and then very curious.  She asked me to follow the Paleo diet to help ease some of the symptoms of Hashimoto’s and possibly derive some allergy relief as well.  I was tired of feeling terrible so I told her I was game.  She said as a side comment that I may want to convert the whole family to avoid contamination and extra work.  I didn’t really realize what I was getting into initially, but it has turned out to be a great thing.  I was so curious about this diet that I set out trying to understand how to go about changing over my entire kitchen.  To many, Paleo sounds old and they may wonder what the correlation to a diet is.  This inquiry project has allowed me the opportunity to find out what the craze is all about.  I came at it from a completely different angle and in hindsight don’t know how I got along feeling so terrible for so long.  To many of my extended family members it has been enough observing me and the changes it has made in my health to inspire them to do the same (although for different reasons).  Thinking about my topic I had to narrow down the reasons people come to the diet focusing on the most important reasons.  Although we share “99% of the same DNA”, we are so different from one another.  My audience is all those different people with different personalities, health histories, and willingness to do something different.

If you are reading my paper either you have to for class, or you are curious.  The stakeholders may be the family members of someone who is considering the diet as well as the person themselves.  You don’t necessarily have to be interested in going on the diet to derive some valuable information.  Many are enthralled with the latest fad.  My attempt is to help people see past the fad and find out what this diet is supposed to achieve and address.  This paper can be used by those who jump into something they may not know much about just because it’s what a lot of people are doing.  Maybe a little information could be helpful to ensure long term success and a healthier eating habits.  As Challem put it ” In a nutshell the Paleo Diet is a modern attempt to replicate the diet of our earliest ancestors”(Challem 48). Is their wisdom transferable to our modern times?

Leave a Reply

