First Draft Jitters

Although it probably is no big deal to most people, I am getting nervous about pulling information together into a really great draft.  I am second guessing the sources I have chosen thus far as being a valuable enough contribution.  I just wonder if they are going to give me enough good relevant information.  Maybe you never feel fully confident in your sources.   I really want to do well the first time around so I can keep on going full speed and get this thing written.   The time I get to work is so fragmented I have a hard time wrapping my head around everything all at once and having a real writers flow.  I am hoping to form a complete picture of what I aim to do with the paper by this weekend.  I have notes in various places so I need to streamline all that information and put it in one place.  I am going to have to put many more chunks of time aside and get a babysitter so I can get enough momentum going.  Hard to do with so many monkey’s getting into trouble in the house.  I used to write big papers like this all at once until the wee hours of the morning.  I am too old for that anymore!  My best writing time is during the day now.  There is the delicate balance of being awake enough to be clear that seems to fade right around 2PM for me. I try to combat this with caffeine, but it doesn’t always work.  I plan to do a bit more research before I dive in.  I am going to do what I know and that is writing an outline to make sure I don’t miss anything.  All the assignments so far have done such a good job leading up to where are right now.  This first draft doesn’t seem long enough to lead up to 14 pages though.        

8 thoughts on “First Draft Jitters

  1. I totally know what you mean about not having a long enough chunk of time to work on the paper. I was just thinking myself when am I going to get a good 5 hours to be able to bust out the first draft, between work, my family and obligations it is a little stressful. I don’t have children so I can only imagine how difficult that must be. I am actually pretty lucky because I do have a work trip next week so I can hole myself in my hotel room and work before bed.
    I read on another person’s blog they are using a word document to list out their quotes and sources so they can just cut and paste them when they need them. This seemed like a pretty helpful tip and maybe would help you as well. Good Luck!!!

  2. I totally have nervous feelings about writing my paper. I have been thinking mostly about how everything will come together in one paper. I thought that it would be a good idea to do an outline first. It will help me to organize my thoughts and maybe have some kind of idea how the words will be placed on the paper. Good luck!

  3. I had the same feeling, I was not sure if my sources are valuable. So, I started to write my first draft three days ago. I found out that my sources was not enough to describe my topic so I worked really hard to find sources that will help my topic and I found them. Good luck with your paper.

  4. Hey – I totally am on the same boat on staying up late :/ it really stinks. As far as bits and chunks of time throughout the day – if you have an outline, maybe you can use those times to work on the little chunks. But I’m sure it will help to have a babysitter to get on a roll. Also, for getting your sources in one spot, I’ve found note cards to be g very helpful. Best of luck!

  5. It is often very difficult and hard for the students to compose a well-organized and well-structured research paper. However, I would suggest that you should first make a detailed outline and then start expanding it in form of the research paper. It will help you stay composed.

  6. I agree with the sources not being good enough, but thankfully we still have plenty of time after the draft to find new ones or take out old ones we find as not very helpful to the overall paper. Along with that I agree on the body not being long enough to fit the 14 page requirement or even half of that, but I guess we will find out how close it gets us when the time comes. Finally good luck on the rest of your paper!

Leave a Reply

